Center for Vulnerable Populations

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD, MAS honored as the 2019 Distinguished Professors of Women and Medicine at SGIM

Distinguished Professors of Women and Medicine 

Each year during the SGIM annual meetings, the WAMC has sponsored the Distinguished Professor of Women and Medicine (formerly Distinguished Professor in Women’s Health).  The Distinguished Professorship includes a plenary address from a national leader in women’s health and a moderated women’s health abstract session.

Urmimala Sarkar, MD receives the 2019 ZSFG Mentoring Award

Congratulations to Dr. Urmimala Sarkar!

Dr. Urmimala Sarkar is the 2019 recipient of the ZSFG Mentoring Award!

This award is given to a Medicine faculty member in recognition of his/her exemplary contributions in mentoring students, postgraduate trainees or faculty members. Mentoring achievements may pertain to clinical, educational or research activities or a combination of these areas.

Alicia Fernandez, MD receives the 2019 Herbert Nickens Award in Minority Health at SGIM


Herbert W. Nickens Minority Health and Representation in Medicine Award

The Herbert W. Nickens Award recognizes exceptional commitment to cultural diversity in medicine. The award will honor an individual or representative of an organization who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to cultural diversity in medicine or to improving minority health.


Read more here.